Place

Vineyard

Located up against the rugged slopes of the Witzenberg Mountain range, Fable focuses on producing pure expressions of Rhône varieties.  Our isolated farm is high up on the edge of a Wilderness Nature Reserve.  It is here at elevations from 400-650m that we have  32 hectares of Syrah, Mourvèdre and Grenache noir.

The vines grow slowly here, they do not have the luxury of much soil, before they must work there way into ancient vertical shale. The mountains behind Fable tower over the vines and its influence is critical to the uniqueness of our site. Every morning the Mountain casts a shadow over the farm, which has a cooling effect. In the Summer this allows the grapes to ripen slowly, retaining great natural acidity, and in winter the snowy peak helps keep the vines dormant for longer.

The site is very challenging with bush fires, extreme weather, wild animals and natural dangers ever present during the growing season. It feels like we are on the fringes of the frontier. The only way we can do the place justice is to farm it respectfully and peacefully. We use a biodynamic and a deep agro-ecological approach to ensure that we maintain the integrity of the site.

Winery

Our renovated gravity fed cellar combines the best of the old and new world: the latest equipment and knowledge with traditional techniques.

Central to the winery design is the ability to process many small parcels of fruit. We selectively harvest only small sections of the vineyard . They are all handled separately and differently from fermentation to barrel. This ensures a full array of components and options come blending.

Our gravity fed cellar allows us to keep pumping to a minimum. It is very hands on, with bunch and berry sorting, only hand plunge downs, and we carry out long macerations for up to 4-6 weeks before pressing.

Farm

We believe in a diversified farm system promoting both stability and fertility. As part of this system we have integrated animals onto the farm. We have a herd of indigenous Nguni cattle, around a hundred Merino sheep and a few unruly pigs.

All our animals are pasture fed, and are completely free range. They have a shepherd who looks after them during the day and at night they are kept in an enclosure to help keep them safe from leopards, caracals and foxes.

The animal manure is used in our soil health program. They are allowed to graze the vineyards in winter, and in the summer we use their manure combined with garden and winery waste to generate biodynamic compost.

The animals not only look good, they taste good too. Meat can be purchased from the farm. Please contact us for further information.

Wines

People

Rebecca Tanner

bio

Rebecca Tanner

bio

Paul Nicholls

bio

Paul Nicholls

bio

Charles Banks

bio

Charles Banks

bio

News

Read All News »

Contact

South Africa

USA

Marketing & Public Relations Director
Sally Burton
sburton@terroirselections.com


SVP Sales & Marketing
Steve Doyle
sdoyle@terroirselections.com


National Accounts Director
Mike Rosalina
mike@terroirselections.com


North Pacific Regional Sales Director
Debbie Emery
debbie@terroirselections.com


South Pacific Regional Sales Director
Karl Ziegler
kziegler@terroirselections.com


South West Regional Sales Director
Natalie Vaclavik
natalie@terroirselections.com


Northeast Regional Sales Director
Chad LeMieux
chad@terroirselections.com


Mid-Atlantic Regional Sales Director
Dan Goettel
dgoettel@terroirselections.com


Mid West Regional Sales Director
Troy Hamilton
thamilton@terroirselections.com


Southern Regional Sales Director
Douglas Banks
dbanks@terroirselections.com

Come Visit Us

Fable Mountain Vineyards is located at the end of Weltevrede Rd off the R46 between Tulbagh and Wolseley.

Tastings by appointment.